top of page

Throwback Thursday #5: Astro - Blue Flame

Welcome to another edition of NYAN's TBT. This week we're featuring another nugu-ish boy group. Astro is an interesting choice for me because 4 months ago I had no idea who they were and now I listen to Blue Flame daily.


Signed to Fantagio, this six member group debuted in 2016 and have been steadily increasing in popularity ever since. I don't know much about them but I am slowly working my way through their discography and as someone tired of hip hop boy bands, I'm glad to see a group focus more on singing than rapping. I hope this becomes the new trend.


Blue Flame grabs you with it's minimalist reggae infused instrumental before building spectacularly both music wise and vocally. The live performances maintain the crazy, sexy, cool vibes from the music video. The live performances maintain the crazy, sexy, cool vibes from the music video. The boys are singing LIVE, they're still doing those aerobatic dance moves AND they all genuinely sound great. I feel like I've gone back in time when vocalists were necessary to create a successful group.


Here's hoping for more Pop/R&B from this group and K-pop in general!



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page