top of page

Throwback Thursday #3: Red Velvet - Bad Boy

Sorry for the delay in getting this belated #tbt post out but it be like that sometimes :)


Red Velvet occupy a unique position in SME as their current only girl group due to the recent disbandment of F(x) and the "break" we're seeing with Girls Generation (Oh-GG! only exists because the other girls left, it's not a true unit). In a sea of female soloist (BoA, SNSD members Taeyeon, Yuri, DJ HYO and Yoona), RV stands as the Queens of Duo concepts in their differing Red and Velvet releases. I can attest to being mainly ambivalent to them while admitting that sometimes they do bring the bops (Ice Cream Cake, Dumb Dumb and Body Talk are some of my favourite K-pop songs of all time) so I do believe that I have a fair opinion on their music.


I say all of that to admit that I'm still not that into Bad Boy.


It's more of a "beautiful gowns" situation for me because I do like them and I respect what they tried to do with Bad Boy but it never really delivers for me. I do love the styling and the music video. I am also in love with the song itself especially with the production of it.


The one performance that I do often go back to is their performance of the English/Korean hybrid at KCON NY in 2018. If you love seeing Seulgi singing about making the devil cry simply by looking in his eyes like I do, then this is likely your favourite performance of this song as well. The girls look fantastic, they sound solid and most of all the crowd is FEELING it.


Enjoy!



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page