top of page
  • Jemin

2 Times I Almost Fell and The 1 Time I Did

Updated: Feb 7, 2020


BY: Jemin | NYAN Host & Blog Writer Dec. 5, 2019 | 9:00 PM


I always said I had 3 introductions to kpop. Once, ages ago, to SHINee, then again in 2016 to EXO and Big Bang, and finally, in 2018 to BTS. The first time I hadn’t heard the music but I saw the name: SHINee. I saw the album covers, somehow, on some social media site. I thought SHINee was the biggest group in Kpop. That they had such extensive global reach. I was a little off in my estimation as years later I had found that Big Bang and EXO had reigned supreme over Kpop with such hits as Loser and Monster being the first to grace my ears. Somehow, though, I never did get into them the way I eventually did with SHINee.


It wasn’t until a full 2 years after hearing Big Bang’s Loser for the first time that I learned of BTS while scrolling through YouTube videos in my recommendations. It was their performance of DNA on the AMAs that caught my attention. I was amazed by these colorful men with an exciting performance unseen from a boy band since the likes of classic faves like New Edition. I binged BTS--everything from music videos to crack videos. I must say that I’ve always had a taste for the finer things in life and the BUDGET on Kpop videos drew me in and made me interested in seeing more. Soon enough I was knee-deep in EXO Kai dance videos and watching SM groups practice their English. Simultaneously because of EXO and BTS I rediscovered SHINee. In light of recent news, Kpop YouTube had taken to reacting to Jonghyun performances--both solo and with SHINee. I think I fell for Jjong and the SHINee members immediately then. I remember watching hours of performances of Prism, Feel Good, and View. SHINee World IV had been the most recent concert dvd at the time and I watched the entire thing on YouTube, then again in pieces.


Then, I ventured into SHINee solos, finding TAEMIN’s Move, and Jonghyun’s Story and She Is. And when SM released Jonghyun’s Poet | Artist, I streamed it so much it was the only thing in my Spotify history at one point. I think that’s what really did me in. To say the least, I had become taken with Kpop. With SHINee, I finally saw what others had seen with their ult groups.


And now, here I am, over a year later and a year older, discovering new groups each day, and falling deeper into the SHINee rabbit hole (thanks, Obama). Next up is NCT.



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page